Introducing the Points System

November 2, 2008 at 9:55 pm | Posted in dating | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

The universe provides: tonight I got my quiet cuddling time with TV and warmth and breathing and no talking. Bliss.

Full story: I started getting sick last night and thought I could tough it out for my date with Dumbass this evening. Unfortunately, my physical discomfort won out over my sense of obligation. He offered to reschedule when he saw my gchat status (yay indirect modes of communication!). Then he offered to bring me soup.

First thought: how sweet! I mean, really. Holy shit.

Second thought: maybe he is just offering because he knows I wouldn’t ask him to do that, and is thereby trying to earn himself points without actually making any effort.

Third thought: only one way to find out!

So I told him he could bring me soup. And he said okay. 😀 Then I went home and spent an hour cleaning my room. He finally showed up around 6:45 with ramen from some Japanese place downtown and we settled into bed with bowls and watched some Daria. Then we cuddled. Then we had a nice fuck. Then we cuddled some more. Then he said he had to go to the grocery store before it closed (he was borrowing his roommate’s car… I’m not sure this is really a legitimate reason to leave after less than two hours, but then again, this was technically a charity visit and not a proper date).

Other thoughts from the day (in chronological order):

  1. When Dumbass (whose pseudonym Luke is now being reinstated on grounds of good behavior) saw I was feeling crappy online, he called me “sweetie.” I was surprised by this. After all, we’d only been on one date, and I’d already expressed serious doubts about the appropriateness of our continuing to see each other. It seems a little familiar, doesn’t it? I mean, I don’t even use terms of endearment with Seth except for the purely physical ones (hot stuff, handsome). Then while we were fucking he called me “sweetheart.” Also strange. I’m not going to pretend I don’t like terms of endearment. I do. But I like them because of the level of emotional intimacy they imply. So what kind of stunt is Luke trying to pull, using these with me?
  2. I think it might be time to institute an actual points system for the boys I’m dating. After all, the messy tally I’m used to keeping is just not going to cut it for comparing three people at once. So I’m going to start assigning point values (positive and negative) to various behaviors, statements, etc… beginning immediately. I’ll be posting and updating the list here.
  3. Luke is definitely the one I find most attractive of all the guys I am dating at the moment. Nom nom nom nom nom. The blondish hair, nice narrow jaw (heart-shaped face), tiny waist and triangle it makes from his shoulders, hipbones protruding like cup handles, freckles across his back. Lovely cock, of course. And I kind of wonder how much more prone my physical attraction to him makes me to forgive his faults, and to think about becoming more emotionally attached to him. You can’t deny the power of animal magnetism. I think we also have better sexual chemistry… Anyway, the part of me that hates superficiality is upset by this realization, and the rest of me is like, “Jeez, give it a rest already.” I like being totally turned on looking at a guy and touching him. It makes a lot of things way easier to deal with. And now he has earned major points by rescheduling our second date an bringing me soup instead. I could be cynical about this — he knows how to get back on my good side though it may not indicate anything major about how interested he is in me — but I can’t decide whether to go this route. Naturally, I’d like to believe he’s actually a good guy, despite all prior evidence to the contrary.
  4. FUCK.

Now it’s only 9pm and I have the rest of the evening to chillax, maybe work a little, and sleep sleep sleep. I’m glad I didn’t go on that date. And I even got the cuddling! I give this night a 9.5 of 10 (minus .5 only for not getting more cuddling).

P.S. He is a good kisser.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.